Adrian Baranchuk, MD, FACC, FRCPC, FCCS

Division of Cardiology, Kingston General Hospital, Queen’s University, Kingston, ON, Canada

Dr. Adrian Baranchuk, a native of Buenos Aires, Argentina, obtained his MD from the University of Buenos Aires in 1990. He completed a Clinical Fellowship in Cardiac Electrophysiology (1997). In 2002 he immigrated to Spain for a Research Fellow. Dr. Baranchuk was appointed Clinical Fellow in Electrophysiology at McMaster University in September 2003.

Dr. Baranchuk was appointed Assistant Professor of Medicine at Queen’s University (2006), promoted to Associate Professor in 2010 and to Full Professor in 2016 (with Tenure). He has founded the EP Training Program in 2007.

He is a member of numerous editorial boards (Europace, Annals of Noninvasive Electrocardiology, etc) and reviewer of several journals. He is currently the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Electrocardiology.

The recipient of a teaching award (Outstanding Contribution in the Core Internal Medicine Program 2009) and 2014 awarded with the prestigious “Faculty of Health Sciences Education Award”.

Dr Baranchuk was awarded with the “Golden Caliper Award” from the SOLAECE for his outstanding contributions to science in 2014 and with the “ISHNE Junior Investigator Award” in 2015. In 2016 he was distinguished with the “10 Most Influential Hispanic-Canadian Award” from the Hispanic and TD Bank.

His books are: Atlas of Advanced ECG Interpretation (REMEDICA, UK), Left Septal Fascicular Block (SPRINGER), the iBook “Electrocardiogrpahy in Pracitice: What to do?”, “Interatrial Block and Supraventricular Arrhythmias: Clinical Implications of Bayes’ Syndrome” (CARDIOTEXT) and “Clinical Arrhythmology 2nd Edition” (Willey).

He has published 460 articles (383 in Pubmed), 45 book chapters and presented 225 abstracts.He is the “President of the International Society of Electrocardiology (ISE)”. He is the Canadian Vice President of the Interamerican Society of Cardiology.

He is the Director of the Critical Enquiry course at Queen’s University. He has been elected Member of the Electrophysiology Section Leadership Council of the American College of Cardiology.